Lost in the land of Mudhens and Tony Paco’s

I was looking forward to getting back to the Midwest with more towns and a change from the many miles of farmland. I still see lots of farmland and can report that the corn and soybeans look pretty good, but probably need some rain.  I’ve also had to navigate Lansing, Jackson and Toledo (today).  As mentioned in earlier blogs, I have a cool Garmin 810, Google maps, a compass–just about everything other than a sextant.  In spite of all these state of the art devices, I’ve managed to make more wrong moves than Ted Cruz in Cleveland.  By the way, when do the Ted in 2020 stickers come out?  I’ve added miles to the trip by my inability to follow directions in these cities.  Granted there are lots more turns to keep someone on a bike off interstates and other places that bikes shouldn’t be, however, anything more than about three turns and you need to send out the search party and the dogs.  I know, I know, I’m a man I have the poor direction gene, but it’s been maddening in these cities.  If I was on Lewis and Clark’s team we would have ended up in Tijuana.  Got to Ohio today and ultimately did get on a great trail for about 20 miles to Fremont.  It’s pretty toasty out here, but that’s OK.  I would rather have heat than pedaling in the rain.  Tomorrow on to Cleveland.  I don’t think I’ll be able to catch the Trump bus or the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.  Thanks for the nice messages and support.  Enjoy your weekend.

9 thoughts on “Lost in the land of Mudhens and Tony Paco’s

  1. You are making great progress ! It is amazing how a wrong turn while biking is a much bigger deal than while driving a car. Best Hank

    Like

  2. Robin and I are enjoying your postings! What great sights you are enjoying, despite the elements and directional challenges. You have inspired Jared and he is now the proud owner of a some type of fancy bike.

    May God continue to lead your journey!

    JOY!

    The Hooks

    Like

  3. Too bad they can’t invent something that sprays cold water as you bike…yikes Jim, it was 102 on Saturday. Be safe – I think you were better off in the farmlands instead of the roads with 18 weelers. Love you, A

    Like

  4. Great to see you fighting through the heat Jim. Looks like it will reside later in the week. Stay hydrated and hopefully you get a little easterly wind blowing at your back as you trek through Ohio. Wishing you our best.

    Like

Leave a comment